
TITLE 20—DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND INSURANCE 
Division 2263—State Committee for Social Workers 

Chapter 2—Licensure Requirements 
 

PROPOSED AMENDMENT 
 
20 CSR 2263-2.070 Temporary Permits for Licensed Social Workers. The committee is 
amending sections (1) and (2), adding new section (5), and renumbering as necessary. 
 
PURPOSE: This amendment adds language to request an extension for a temporary permit and 
clarifies requirements for master social workers.   
 
(1) Individuals who have a valid, unexpired license or certificate as a social worker from a state, 

territory, province, or country whose licensing or certification requirements are substantially 
the same as the current Missouri requirements for licensure, as determined by the committee, 
may receive a temporary permit to practice social work in Missouri pending committee 
approval [for licensure by reciprocity]. 

 
(2) Temporary permit requests must be submitted to the committee with a completed [reciprocity] 

application.  
 
(5) Individuals who have a temporary permit may request three (3) weeks prior to the 

expiration, a one- (1-) time three- (3-) month extension of the permit in the event of a 
natural disaster or client crisis.  The request must be made in writing and fully explain 
the reasoning for the request.  If the request is not received by the committee three (3) 
weeks prior to the expiration of the temporary permit, the request will not be considered. 

 
[(5)](6) Individuals who have temporary permits are subject to the statutes and regulations 

promulgated by the committee governing the practice of social work.  
 
[(6)](7) Individuals who have temporary permits may use the social work title for which they seek 

licensure. Temporary permits issued to licensed master social workers are required to 
comply with 20 CSR 2263-2.030, 20 CSR 2263-2.031, and 20 CSR 2263-2.032.  

 
AUTHORITY: sections 337.600 and 337.621, RSMo [2000] 2016 and sections [337.600,] 
337.627, and 337.630, RSMo Supp. [2009] 2024.* This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 263-2.070. 
Original rule filed Sept. 18, 1990, effective Feb. 14, 1991. For intervening history, please consult 
the Code of State Regulations.  Amended: Filed June 17, 2025.  
 
PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions 
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate. 
 
PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private entities more than five hundred 
dollars ($500) in the aggregate. 
 
NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition 



to this proposed amendment with the State Committee for Social Workers, PO Box 1335, Jefferson 
City, MO 65102, by fax at (573) 526-3489 or via email at lcsw@pr.mo.gov.  To be considered, 
comments must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri 
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled. 
 


